Skip to content

Downtown, Looking Up

January 24, 2010

Downtown, Looking UpAnother shot that I took while leading a night photography workshop last week. It was quite breezy and the palm trees acquired an interesting blur effect as they swayed about during the long exposure. Personally I think that the building at the top of the screen looks an awful lot like the underside of an Imperial Star Destroyer from the first Star Wars movies.

Don’t forget to use the F11 key to maximize your browser’s screen size for viewing this vertical entry.

Oh, so you noticed the new format? there are so many advantages to using this system versus my old method that I won’t even take time to list them all. Most important though are the increased web visibilty characteristics, my ability to edit from anywhere without dedicated software, better commenting options, and of course much less time spent creating entries on my part. That’s the real biggie for me right now with as busy as I am these days.

I have to give some credit to RC Conception of the Kelby media group for giving me a push in this direction on Friday night. I have had it on my endless to-do list forever but hadn’t been able to dedicate any time to learning the system. RC gave a good explanation of the system in a nutshell and from that I was able to get rolling rather quickly. Now that I’m over the time investment of the initial setup it will save me much time on a daily basis from here out.

Older Entries

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 12:05 pm

    Wow! I love the new blog–you’ve done a great job with it, and so fast, too! RC was just great Friday night. I’m not nearly as brave as you, though. I still haven’t tried it–even if I do want to re-vamp my website.

    About this shot: Another one through your fabulous eyes. I’ve often made photos like this, but never used only part of the other building for framing. This is great. I’m going to have to try this one of these days.

    Great shot, Jim.

  2. January 25, 2010 2:31 pm

    Thanks Loyce,

    I did things a bit different than what might be normal for most with this setup. I already have a hosted domain with 2 gigs of server space for my website. Since I don’t want to spend time moving content between servers or messing around with DNS pointers and the like I activated a free WordPress account that has 3 gigs of space with it. I then embedded the WordPress site into a frames page on my own server so that it still appears under jrsphotos.com and is somewhat integrated with my existing content. Thanks to the fact that I can hack my way through some html code I have gotten around some of the limited functionality of the free account.

    Net result is that I more than doubled my capacity for content and got an easier, faster, cleaner interface for my journal at no monetary cost, just the investment of a night of labor defining WordPress options and writing some code.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    January 25, 2010 10:30 pm

    Love the new look by using the wordpress blog 🙂

  4. January 29, 2010 3:38 pm

    Very cool information. We attended the same class, but you’re a whole lot better with this kind of stuff than I am. Maybe a hands-on class from you at a later time would be an idea. I’m sure I’m not the only one interested…

Leave a Reply

