Skip to content

Cathedral Basilica of St. Augustine

February 11, 2010

I always enjoy photographing the interiors of churches and shrines. The lighting and the architectural details always combine to have strong visual impact. This is another example of a situation where my trusty beanbag saved the day and let me stabilize my camera during a long exposure without the need for a tripod. I had no intention of lugging a tripod around the Spanish Quarter all day and I really don’t like to deploy one in a place like this anyway. I keep my beanbag in my pocket because it’s infinitely more portable than a tripod and always ready. It’s also much more discreet to deploy in a location such as this where I like to work quietly and unobtrusively out of respect for those who may be there to worship or pray.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathleen permalink
    February 12, 2010 1:03 pm

    Jim, this is simply beautiful! Every part of the photo – the lines of pews leading to the altar, the light steaming in from the windows, and the detail in the gorgeous ceiling.

  2. February 25, 2010 5:15 am

    I like too this inside photo of Cathedral Basilica of St. Augustine. To me it was interesting to read using beanbag. In many cases our church have lack of light and I have to use then ISO 3200.

Leave a Reply

