Skip to content

Moonrise at Sunrise

February 18, 2010

It was a really cold morning on this day last week as I began photographing an equestrian event before the sun was even up. As the sky began to light up in a blaze of color I found a suitable spot to frame the waning crescent moon. It was a nice little bonus that there happened to be a small pond in the foregound to reflect a bit of the pre-dawn sky.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathleen permalink
    February 18, 2010 8:41 am

    Jim, this is beautiful! And, such a nice bonus to be able to frame the crescent moon.

  2. February 24, 2010 10:09 pm

    You were lucky to find the moon in just the right place to balance out the composition. Spectacular color in the sky and perfect silhouettes. Beautiful work.

    • February 24, 2010 11:03 pm

      Actually, I was in an open pasture when I saw the moon in the pre-dawn sky. I knew I only had a few minutes to do something with it so I looked around me for a composition that would work. I was lucky to find this arrangement of elements nearby and get a few shots off before getting back to the job at hand.

Leave a Reply

