Skip to content

Flagler College, Blue Hour

February 19, 2010

This was taken while demonstrating how to shoot at that special time of day that we photographers refer to as the blue hour. Three things that work particularly well in blue hour compositions are silhouettes, lights, and reflective surfaces. This location provided all of the above with the palm trees, illuminated buildings, and water. I was being lazy and hadn’t been carting a tripod around with me so this is another one of those shots where I took my trusty beanbag out of my pocket and used it to stabilize the camera.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 1:31 am

    What a beautiful place!

    I love all those colors You captured. Your photo is is very successfull.

  2. February 24, 2010 10:07 pm

    In addition to the mentioned lights, reflections and silhouettes, I particularly like the way the yellow lights contrast with the blue for a very pleasing color combination.

    The Blue Hour, yes, I capitalized it because it is such a special time for us photographers, who I know wish it really lasted an hours instead of a few minutes. It is the utmost perfect time to make any photograph look special.

Leave a Reply

