Skip to content

Sunset Cycle

March 16, 2010

I was shooting motocross racing on Saturday and as nightfall approached I strategically positioned myself  to shoot into the sun. Another photographer there told me that he thought the cycles would be moving too fast for me catch them at the right moment and get the shot I was looking for. That just made me want to nail it even more. Turned out to be a piece of cake and I got at least a dozen shots that worked before the sun disappeared.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathleen permalink
    March 16, 2010 10:16 am

    Wow, what a photograph!! And this, my friend, is one of the reasons why your work is not like other photographers … You have an amazing eye and the ability to see potential images and post processing like no other.

    • March 16, 2010 11:55 am

      Thanks Kathleen. I could tell as soon as I walked out onto the track that the sun was moving into a position behind a hill that would allow for just such an iconic shot. I mentioned to another photographer on the track that I was heading off behind the hill to give it a go. He wished me luck and said that with the speed of cycles he really thought I had no chance to catch them in the split second when they would be directly in front of the sun. I put my experience with horse action into play and adjusted my timing to account for the fact that the cycles were definitely faster than horses. It’s actually a matter of reacting in advance, before the subject makes it where you want them to be so that by the time the shutter actually opens up the subject has reached the intended point.

  2. March 17, 2010 6:37 pm

    I love how you captured the sun in his rear wheel. Your timing is impeccable, Jim. Everytime I look at your work, I am always amazed at your eye and your timing. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

