Skip to content

The Table is Set

March 19, 2010

Although I have been doing a lot of commercial architectural work lately this is just some personal work that I shot while on a field trip with a student at the home of John and Mable Ringling. It’s a hand held, 3 shot HDR image. It definitely could have been done better with a tripod but you can’t take one in there. I pushed up the ISO, held my breath, and fired off a 3 shot bracket to make this one.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 2:01 am

    Hi, I don’t know if this isn’t part of the HDR process, but your shadows seem a bit muddy. I tested the image out and at least to me it looked better with the shadows clipped (using levels in PS).

    • March 19, 2010 3:44 am

      Might be a difference in monitors/calibration/brightness/contrast between our systems. Levels in PS already show a fair amount of shadow clipping on my end. I normally do add some clipping to my HDR stuff specifically to overcome the tendency for the shadows to look washed out. I’ll be the first to admit that this image could have been much better if I had used a tripod to get more bracketed exposures to work with. I normally shoot between 5 and 8 exposures at 1 stop increments and a lower ISO for my commercial work and get much better results than this 3 shot image. The high ISO has a lot to do with the look of the shadows in this one and I’m sure that you’re seeing the noise artifacts get hidden as you block up the shadows, especially if your screen brightness is high.

  2. March 19, 2010 10:08 am

    This is the kind of HDR that I like. It looks natural, which is how it should be–not over-saturated and noisy. It looks great on my monitor as well, Jim.

  3. Kathleen permalink
    March 21, 2010 6:01 pm

    I have no problem either; not noisy or “muddy” on my monitor. I like the look. I was there. Not easy to get this photo because of the “human element” passing through the room … timing was everything.

Leave a Reply

