Skip to content

Aerial Pyramid

April 20, 2010

I was out on Saturday acting as crew chief for one of my fellow balloon pilots at the big airshow. As you may know, due to my long-time involvement in the sport of ballooning I have taken so many balloon photos that I really don’t feel the need to keep taking more unless something really catches my eye. Well, one of the classic compositional elements in art is the pyramid. I try and maintain a trained eye for the classic elements of composition so when I saw this pyramid beginning to take form as the balloons lifted into the morning sky I decided it was worth taking a shot. I hadn’t even bothered to take a camera out of the bag yet so I had to make a dash to the truck and quickly dig one out. After a few quick seconds of verifying and adjusting my settings I managed to pop off a few shots before the drifting of the balloons caused the composition to disintegrate.

I have also posted a set of individual portraits and group shots from a shoot I just did with a heavy metal band over on my musicians and models site.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 9:46 pm

    I like this one a lot. It’s different than the usual hot air balloon photo. I just love your eye, Jim.

Leave a Reply

