Skip to content

Stormy Weather

April 26, 2010

As I write this a pretty good storm is rolling through the area. The storm triggered my memory of this image that I shot a little while ago and never got around to posting. Although the image itself may seem to have a gloomy emotional tone to it I tend to really like stormy weather myself. It’s hard to describe but a good storm is both calming and invigorating to me at the same time. I think it’s a case of me relaxing while listening to the sound of the wind, rain, and thunder and then as my mind clears the creative juices begin to flow. It’s probably the reason why I love to get out with a camera during a storm.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 4:07 pm

    The bare tree branches under a dark sky reminds me of rain falling down heavy like it did last night. The only difference is that rain at a slow shutter speed would be white not black. Either way, I love this image, Jim.

    • April 27, 2010 1:07 am

      Thanks Loyce,

      Interesting that you commented about the tree branches looking like rain falling from the sky. I visualized it that way when I shot it and wondered if I would be alone in that visual metaphor when viewing the image.

      • May 1, 2010 4:56 pm

        Maybe I’m just beginning to understand your vision a little bit.

        I realize that we learn from one another and that’s why it’s so important for me to follow your blog. Everytime I look at your images ideas run through my head. It’s a great learning experience and as far as I’m concerned, a great way to learn. Everyone should have a mentor.

Leave a Reply

