Skip to content

Really Stormy Weather

April 27, 2010

As you may remember I was writing yesterday’s post as a storm was passing overhead, inspiring me to dig up the image that I posted from my archives. Well, as I said in that post, I am often compelled to go out with a camera during inclement weather. No sooner had I published my post than I had grabbed up a camera and headed out onto my front porch. The porch protected me from the lightning bolts that were crashing down all about but offered little refuge from the blowing rain, as the visible drops on my lens in this image attest. I’m never afraid for myself or my camera to get wet when shooting but I do respect the lightning.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 10:08 pm

    Looks like you got a 2fer. Blue hour and lightning. How cool is that?

    • April 27, 2010 10:26 pm

      Actually the blue is simply the color the lightning imparted to the sky. Most of the lightning was tinting the sky purple in my shots but the closer, brighter bolts caused the purple tint to shift into blue as in this image. It was actually about 2:15 in the morning when I went outside and shot this.

      • May 1, 2010 4:54 pm

        Well, I really like the look. I’m sorry I missed that storm last week. I could have really caught some great shots–if I wasn’t so tired from my trip to NY.

Leave a Reply

