Skip to content

Unstrung

May 5, 2010

This is the shot I mentioned earlier in the week when I spoke about checking out the teleconverter capabilities of my new adapter. I spotted this cello with the broken strings in the corner of another studio in the Art Colony and immediately knew that I had found a subject interesting enough to photograph for quick test. I only had a few free minutes to shoot so I asked for permission to take the cello down the hall to my own studio so I could at least make an attempt to put some halfway decent light onto it. I set up a single light and reflector, not because it was an ideal way to light things but because it was a compromise between having good light and working quickly. I didn’t even bother to go the trouble of setting up a tripod, just fired off a few quick hand-held shots and then returned the cello on my way out to my truck.  I was happy enough with this shot to go ahead and post it here.

On another note, I’ve posted some more luxury home HDR images over on my real estate photography site that are worth taking a look at if for no other reason than see how nice this house is.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathleen permalink
    May 5, 2010 9:20 am

    Jim, the teleconverter images keep getting better and better. What an amazing piece of equipment and this photograph is a perfect example of what it will allow you to do! Nice lighting effect also.

  2. May 6, 2010 9:39 pm

    Great shot for a grab shot, Jim. It’s amazing how much detail one can see with macro that our own, far more superior, eyes can’t seem to be able to see unaided. I think that’s why I like macro so much.

Leave a Reply

