Skip to content

My Name in Lights

June 14, 2010

I realized when I posted Friday’s entry that I had very recently taken another night photo that I had processed with a very similar color palette and decided I would follow up with it here today. This is one of a few shots I took for my blue hour photography workshop the other week. During the workshop itself I was kept very busy working with the people who attended, helping them with camera settings, pointing out compositions. and lecturing about technique. The only photos that I took myself were simply to illustrate something for someone as I helped them out during the workshop.

It’s the start of another fully booked and crazy week for me. I have a couple more luxury homes to shoot, lots of private lessons scheduled, and a couple of live performances to shoot that will put some extra pressure on me because it involves photographing the child of someone who is very high-profile in the world of photography. I am going to remain discreet though and not name names here. I had another shoot last week that necessitated me shooting the same child and I chose to not make a big deal of it and approach it just the same as the other couple of hundred kids I was shooting even though several people made it a point to say  ” You know who’s kid that is don’t you?” Fair is fair when everyone is paying for the same thing and and a seemingly endless line of other children are waiting their turn in front of the camera.  Through certain connections that shoot led me into the shoot I’m doing this week. At least this week the circumstances may allow a bit more creative flexibility than in last week’s assembly-line style shoot. We’ll see when the time comes.

I hope this busy trend continues, business is solid enough right now that I’m actually turning down shoots if they can’t be scheduled at least 2 weeks out. I have to make sure that I don’t get trapped into having so many shoots close together  that I wind up shortchanging someone on quality, especially where editing and processing are concerned, in order to meet deadlines. The only bad thing about it is that right now everything I’m doing is for clients and I have shot nothing for myself for fun in a few weeks. I will have to make a point to schedule an appointment for myself to shoot something fun and creative.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2010 10:41 pm

    Where is this fountain? I’ve seen several shots from this vantage point and would love to take a stab at it. I love the composition.

    • June 21, 2010 2:46 am

      Good to hear from you Loyce. This is in Curtis Hixon Park, downtown Tampa. It’s pretty nice there since it reopened along with the museum. There are 2 sets of fountains in the park and this one stays on until 10 at night.

Leave a Reply

