Skip to content

Something Fresh

June 15, 2010

So I don’t have any artsy personal work to show because I’ve been too busy to shoot that sort of thing. Instead I’m posting something fresh that I just shot yesterday on a job. It was the first interior shot done during a luxury home shoot and it demonstrates a post-production trick I’ve been using for this type of scene. The primary image that you see here is an HDR conversion from 7 exposures. There were actually 10 original exposures made though. The extra 3 were varying exposures of the scene that appears through the window. I then chose the one from those 3 that looked best with the HDR file and worked it in as a separate composite file. As you can see the technique works well when there aren’t any blinds or lattices on the window to contend with.

Today is a non-shooting day for me. I am teaching private lessons in the studio during the day and then I am working as a substitute teacher at a community college tonight. Then I get back to shooting again, 4 shoots lined up over the following 3 days with a couple of private lessons thrown in between.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 20, 2010 10:38 pm

    Love your HDR shots, Jim. They don’t have that unnatural look that I see so often and really hate. Nice trick with the window. I’ll have to remember that one. Thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

