Skip to content

The Human Element

June 24, 2010

On it’s own, this is a fairly interesting architectural composition with nice elements of perspective, repetition, and lines. Add the human element at the right place in the scene and things get kicked up a notch.

Surprisingly, I got almost everything on my massive to-do list accomplished yesterday. I don’t mean my overall list which scares me when I think about how long it is, just the list of what I wanted to accomplish yesterday. I had a rocky start though and began to think that I might not get much done at all. I had so many things I wanted to accomplish whirling through my still-sleepy mind as I left home that in my state of concentration I drove right past my first stop. Frustrated when I eventually realized what I had done, I turned around and began backtracking. I let my mind go back to planning my day and drove all the way back home on auto-pilot. As I approached my driveway it dawned on me that I had now passed my first stop again, this time going in the opposite direction, and had no reason to be back home. I turned around, concentrated on where I was going, and made it there on my third attempt. Next stop was to get coffee and gas. The truck and I both desperately needed fuel to continue. Pulled into the gas station, went inside, fixed my coffee, and paid for gas at the same time. I walked out to the pump while sipping the hot brew and as the caffeine and sugar began to clear the lingering cobwebs from my brain I started contemplating the details of my next appointment. Once again deep in thought I climbed right into the truck and drove off to that appointment. A couple of miles down the road I noticed the low fuel warning light glowing on the dashboard and realized that I had just paid 75 bucks for gas I didn’t get. After smacking myself in the forehead really hard and cursing out loud all the way back to the station I got things straightened out, got my gas, and finally started paying attention to what I was doing. Let’s see how I make out with today’s busy schedule.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathleen permalink
    June 28, 2010 4:35 pm

    This photographer had one huge personal element … {:o).

  2. June 28, 2010 9:43 pm

    I can’t believe it! I’ve done the very same thing. One time, with my mother-in-law, I drove to Niantic from Colchester, CT. It’s only about a 20 minute ride. I kept missing my turns and kept having to turn around until finally, I found myself in a place I had no idea where I was or how I got there, let alone how to get back.

    Colchester is a main town in that area and everyone knows where it is because it’s on the way to the beaches. We stopped and asked someone how to get back to Colchester, and he never heard of Colchester. We got home 4 hours later. I also went into buy gas and cigarettes at a gas station and drove off without the gas.

    This is just too wild, Jim.

    Great shot, by the way.

Leave a Reply

