Skip to content

Rain on the Avenue

June 29, 2010

Another shot from my jaunt on 7th Ave. during the storm the other night. As usual in a scene like this it’s the inclusion of the human element that brings the image up a notch from a being just a static street scene. Simply including people in random spots within a composition isn’t guaranteed to work though. Looking for the decisive moment matters. With a tip of my hat to Henri Cartier-Bresson let me point out in case you didn’t already notice that the pedestrian is captured in mid stride in a pose that mimics the pedestrian on the yellow sign and the arrow on that sign points right at her. Not a coincidence.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathleen permalink
    June 29, 2010 8:59 am

    I immediately noticed the pedestrian in mid-stride. In fact, that’s what first caught my eye. I didn’t initially equate it with the yellow sign. I studied the photo and noticed the arrow pointing directly at her. Excellent timing, Jim!!

  2. June 29, 2010 9:34 am

    Nice shot! I didn’t notice the mirror image of the lady and sign, either.

  3. July 5, 2010 9:58 pm

    I didn’t notice the sign either. Your timing is impeccable, Jim. Excellent point–something I’ll have to try to pay attention to in the future. Thanks for another lesson.

Leave a Reply

