Skip to content

Rainy Evening

July 2, 2010

It rained again last night and I was down at the studio doing some work. When I have a camera handy the rain draws me like a moth to a flame. As twilight deepened I grabbed a camera, hit the streets, and got wet. I also got a few shots I was happy with. This was the first shot I took. I really liked putting together this composition with complimentary colors in the foreground and background while contrasting the clarity of the foreground against the rain-blurred background. I felt that the combination of those elements served to reinforce the visual separation of the single building in front of  a skyline filled with buildings.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathleen permalink
    July 2, 2010 8:37 am

    Jim, before I enlarged the photo, my first thought was this is a NM church in the blue hour. What a surprise!! I really like this!

    • July 2, 2010 11:44 am

      That’s funny. I do have a heavy hand when it comes to posting my work from The Land of Enchantment. Once in a while though I can make Tampa look good in a photo too.

  2. July 5, 2010 9:53 pm

    I thought the same thing until I saw Tampa in the background. Where IS this church? This is one of the most creative shots of the Tampa skyline I’ve ever seen. Only you would think of it.

    • July 6, 2010 1:00 am

      It’s on the west side of 15th St. in Ybor City and sits diagonally from the southwest corner of the parking garage.

Leave a Reply

