Skip to content

Lucky Lunar Lineup

August 13, 2010

I was downtown last night taking some photos for a project and I kept watching and photographing the setting moon as I worked. Eventually I realized that if I could position myself correctly this image would be possible. I was able to get to the right spot just in time to start making a sequence. I shot 25 frames during the sequence and these 3 best represent what I set out to accomplish. Because the moon actually sets in a slanted direction rather than directly downward I had to keep moving to my left between each shot to keep it aligned between the minarets. The further down it got the farther I had to jump to the left with my tripod to maintain alignment. The second shot you see here was made from only about 3 feet to the left of the image seen above whereas the the 3rd one you see here was taken from around 50 feet or so left of my starting point. After finishing up with my shoot here I then headed to a dark hayfield out in the countryside to watch the Perseid meteor shower. It was a good night of skygazing for me.

Click to see them big:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathleen permalink
    August 13, 2010 7:55 am

    Jim, these photographs are gorgeous! I’m so glad you had an opportunity to relax and enjoy the meteor show!!

  2. Tim Harding permalink
    August 13, 2010 8:59 am

    This is an amazing shot of Plant Hall. Fantastic job. I’m going to look into purchasing one of these for the Career Services office.

    Nice work!

    Tim Harding
    Director of Career Services
    UT

Leave a Reply

