Skip to content

Really Close Encounters

September 10, 2010

I put one of those lenses I repaired the other day into service for some macro shots last night. It’s surprising sometimes how a very simple setup can yield a very dramatic result. This is a closeup of a compact disc that was sitting on the table next to the sofa. All I had to do to get the shot was lean over from where I was sitting until I was at the right angle to see the colors of light refracting on the surface. I was particularly fascinated by the optical illusion of the center of the disc appearing to hover above the surface like a flying saucer.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathleen permalink
    September 10, 2010 5:03 am

    This shot falls into the category of “What is it?” Everything about this photograph appeals to me – the mystery, the composition, and especially the colors!!! Fantastic!

  2. September 10, 2010 9:52 am

    This is such a cool shot and one of my favorites. I can’t figure out how you did it with those reflections, but I’m sure going to try to figure it out. Wow!

Leave a Reply

