Skip to content

Beachcomber

September 15, 2010

Yet another image from my archives that I once intended to post in the journal but never got around to. It was a quick grab-shot, composed and shot in a split second. Being able to make a shot like this is one of the many reasons I prefer to work in manual mode much of the time. I already had settings dialed in from shooting the bridge and the sky and was actually leaving the area. When I saw the man walking past and realized that the elements of a nice composition were about to fall into place all I had to do was raise up the camera and focus. I knew exactly what my exposure and depth-of-field would be because I knew that the camera wasn’t in any of the auto modes and therefore couldn’t change any settings based on whatever the internal meter might be reading. I like knowing what I will get when I only have one shot at something rather than getting a surprise based on what the camera thinks might be right under the circumstances. Manual mode assures me of predictability and consistency from shot to shot.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

