Skip to content

In the Thick of Things

November 8, 2010

Robert Capa once said “If your pictures aren’t good enough, you aren’t close enough.” I took those words to heart when I was photographing a series of law enforcement training exercises last week. Shots like this really give you a much better feel for the action than ones taken from further away with a telephoto lens.

The photos here were taken when officers were learning techniques for controlling and/or arresting protesters and rioters. They took turns acting as protesters, harassing and assaulting the officers who’s turn it was to put their skills to the test. I put myself right in the thick of things to get the best perspective on the action. Yes, I did get jostled and knocked around a bit and once even came close to getting a shield jabbed into my groin (next image below) but the immediacy of the resulting images was worth it.  Let me tell you, these guys didn’t pussy-foot around during the simulations. In the second image below the instructor took a shot that broke his helmet.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 2:38 pm

    Wow! Talk about in your face action. These are fantastic, Jim. I’d love a chance to see and photo something like this; although, I’d probably chicken out with the closeness. 😦

Leave a Reply

