Skip to content

Stripe

December 29, 2010
tags: , ,

I was testing a lens recently and this was one of the shots I made during my tests. Just for fun I’m not going to say what it is right now and see if anyone cares to guess. Personally I thought this was easy to identify but the folks I’ve showed it to so far have been stumped. Here is a closer view:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathleen permalink
    December 29, 2010 7:25 am

    It looks to me like a red knit fabric with a white print overlay. However, the closer view might prove me wrong. Whatever it is, I like the shot.

    • December 29, 2010 9:45 am

      Not fabric. I guess it’s not as easy to figure out as I thought it might be. There’s no limit on guesses though. Regardless, I will reveal the answer here in the comments tomorrow if it isn’t figured out by then.

      • December 30, 2010 11:19 pm

        Answer: It is my television screen. It’s a very close up shot that shows the array of individual phosphor dots on the front of the picture tube of my very, very old television set. I had been cleaning some fungus out of a couple of 1970’s vintage lenses for myself and a friend and wanted to do a quick test of the sharpness and resolving power of one the freshly reassembled lenses. Being lazy and not wanting to dig up and illuminate a focus chart in the middle of the night I realized that the TV provided its own light and its own very fine pattern to focus on. This particular image shows a small part of a letter of text in a product logo that was displayed in the corner of the screen that I was focusing on during a commercial.

  2. Kathleen permalink
    January 2, 2011 11:06 am

    Incredible! You never cease to amaze me!

Leave a Reply

